Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Implementing a goal of politics is a complicated process in any country, as it is not an one man thing to complete but require lot of humans to complete one goal, and no human is perfect at all times or at least, all the humans in the process are not perfect at all times. So, goal of politics is not plausible to be pursuit of ideal.

I would agree with later argument provided in the statement, as it sounds a pragmatic approach to achieve a goal of politics. For instance, government want to construct a water reservoir for the irrigation needs. Here, if we consider ideal goal, then government wants to construct within 1 year to complete all the process which includes acquiring required land and evacuation of the people from the low lying areas where people would affect. But this cannot happen as people may retaliate the approach of government, until a pragmatic approach to solve this like government needs to discuss with the people who would affect and need to get reasonable consensus between them like government should ensure compensation and shelter post evacuation process.

Another instance can be like government has the goal to improve the industrial economy by passing the law to accept 100% FDI(foreign direct investment) which looks an ideal process, but this may be affect general public mostly whose income is based on small/medium scale business. So here pragmatic approach would be to change the laws so as that it won’t affect the public by finding a common ground which would benefit both the economy of the country and the public.

In the end, I would like to say government bodies or politics should work on goals based on Practical approach which would not affect the public and at the same time it should benefit the public by looking at the common grounds.