Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Politics have become a subject of broad interest and scrutiny around the world as of late. There are those who dispute the fact that politicians should pursue high ideals and those who affirm it. There are those of assert that politics should be concerned with finding common ground and those who believe that 'doing the right thing' sometimes requires traveling down the road less traveled. Although pursuing an ideal world sounds far more chivalrous, finding common ground for practical ideas is far more important in today's day and age.

The primary concern with striving to create utopia lies within the ambiguity of its definition. Pursuing an ideal is a noble cause, but reflecting on history teaches us that such actions can prove disastrous. Depending on the person attempting to pursue an ideal, the consequences can vastly vary. Right-wing politicians' perfect world looks immensely different from much more progressive leaders. Politicians are voted in office to represent the people and implementing drastic changes to fulfil one person's point of view is not a democratic solution. Because of their required loyalty to regular citizens, lawmakers across the aisle should work together in order to come to a consensus.

Furthermore, the difficulties brought about by striving to create utopia, the argument that politicians should pursue ideals is not entirely untenable. Lawmakers depend on specialists such as economists and biologists in order to lay out fully formed plans. When compromises are made to accommodate all parties involved, the entire purpose of the plan is at risk of being dismantled. Plans intended to fight climate change will be negated and undermined by the obligation to make concessions because opposing parties may not view global warming as a pressing issue. Even though opponents may fail to consider the favorable effects brought about by the several proposed laws, a democracy demands politicians work together. The main problem lies not with the politician striving for an ideal, but with the definition of what is 'good' and 'just.

In addition, lawmakers should lead by example by showing that people with different beliefs can work together properly. By attempting to find common ground, politicians signal to the regular citizens that they must work together in a respectful way in order to create a successful society. Instilling values such as respect and tolerance are part of an ideal society and can be instilled even by making concessions in other areas.

In summary, it is almost impossible to pursue ideals and implement laws that successfully impact a society without making concessions. While being idealistic is not without merit, the opposing views of what makes a country thrive are known to clash among the leaders of political parties. The definition of 'an ideal' is much too vague and ambiguous to be able justly pursue. Without working towards a reasonable consensus, any society is at risk of becoming the hostage of an absolute rules.