"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -Write a response i

Stories and gossip on sports stars and movie stars are penetrating the public at unprecedented levels due to rapidly increasing technology. With blogs, news stations, and social media platforms covering practically every aspect of a celebrity's life, young people absorb such information more than ever. Although sports stars and movie stars have been viewed as role models in the past, technological advances have made it concerning that such stars are role models for the youth. Regardless of the wealth these celebrities achieve, it should be their societal responsibility to understand their position as role models for young people. It is crucial for stars to acknowledge this obligation and embrace it as they are scrutinized and observed by more people in more ways than ever before. Additionally, the youth who look up to these celebrities absorb their culture, fashion, and mindsets. These celebrities can have a significant impact on what the youth perceive as accepted behavior in society. Consequently, celebrities should fulfill their societal responsibility to spread positivity and propriety to young people.

Young people are still at a crucial period in their lives where they are bound to make mistakes. They have mercurial temperments and equivocal judgements. They may be going through puberty or the most trying vississitudes of their lives. Most youth are still trying to discover who they are and what they want to become. This makes them vulnerable to the status quo and peer pressure, both of which assimilate celebrity culture into each generation. For example, popular teen movies portraying a party culture are ubiquitous in American pop media today. Such movies typically consist of substance abuse and an objectification of woman. The majority of movie goers who watch these films are of a younger demographic. Seeing sex and drug behavior on the big screen portrayed by their favorite actors not only displays such behavior as acceptable in the youth's minds, but also may give the youth new ideas of illegal actions to commit. One movie that comes to mind was the summer flick, Project X, that followed a few teenage friends who threw an insanely out of hand party filled with drugs and sex. This lead to numerous replications of Project X-type parties in the Los Angeles area, leading to arrests and overdoses.

Celebrities have their lives publicized constantly, whether they like it or not. If their behavior displays civil misconduct, drug culture, and discordinance with the law, then they propagate a mentality that such things are "cool" or accepted in society. This establishes cult-like youth followings where young people dress, talk, and act like the celebrities they consider their role models. Popoular websites

Sports stars and movie stars have talent of one form or another; however, they would never reach the success and wealth they are accustomed to without the prodigious amount of fans that support them. Whether these stars acknowledge their fan support or not, they must understand the influence over they have over the people that idolize them. As such, they must fulfill their societal responsibility to display appropriate behavior to promote a society that thrives on positivity and progression.

To conclude, sports stars and movie stars have a societal obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them.