The study of an academic discipline alters the way we perceive the world. After studying the discipline, we see the same world as before, but with different eyes.

Study of an academic disciplines enlightens our view and perception towards that particular discipline. Human being constant endeavor to know more makes him explore and learn more. Without any prior knowledge about a domain, everything will seem either be a black-box or something mysteries done by supernatural forces. I will share my own personal experience as well as experience of humanity as a whole to support this viewpoint that after studying the discipline, we see the same world as before, but with different eyes.

First of all, we all know, how our ancestors used to perceive the thundering and lighting. They used to think of it as anger by the god for their bad deeds. They even tried to win favor from god by sacrificing poor animals and sometimes humans. This all changed when we studied about the environment phenomenons. Now we are seeing the same thunder and lighting as a natural phenomenon happening during rainy reasons. Study of environment completely changed our perception about these events. Events have not changed, neither our eyes, its just we studied this discipline and now we are perceiving it differently.

We can also correlate this to simple mobile phone. For a naive person, it is a black box and a small device that can make you call across oceans. A telecommunication developer will answer it differently as she or he knows everything about it. Mobile phones are not merely a mysterious stuff. Instead, they are made up of cutting edge innovations in the field of telecommunication and software development.

I can also correlate this with what I used to think about computers during my childhood. To me, computer viruses were real organisms effecting my computer because I do not take care of dirt around it. But now, this has changed as I learned more about computers. Now, I perceived them as a computer programs affecting because of me visiting malicious websites. Neither my old desktop is changed, nor my eyes, it just my knowledge of this discipline has changed. Now, I perceive the same world of computers surrounding me but in a different way.

In the end, I would like to conclude that, getting to know more about a field, changes how we perceive that discipline. More we know, more our perception about that particular discipline will change.