Subject: “College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.”

I fundamentally disagree with statement that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.Because, as a student I beleive that choice of a field in college is the base of any student’s career and a student should choose a field in which he/she is interested and not by availability of jobs in the field.

Firstly, if a student selects a field just on the aspect of jobs in that field even if they are not passionate about it, then their college study will be onerous.For example,if a student who was interested computer and have a great knowledge about it, and selects another field due to high job availability, it will be hard for him/her to handle it.In college, students have to study on the field they have selected for 3 to 4 years, that’s why interest of the student should have a higher priority.

If after the college years, a student is not skillful and passionate in the field, any company won’t give jobs even there are so many jobs available.Even if the student is selected for job , he will be uncomfortable there. But if a graduate is firmly interested in the field, he/she will have a better chance to be selected for a job even the jobs are less.

And it is not guaranteed, that the field selected by the student will have same amount of job availability when he/she is graduated.Scenario can be changed with the change of technology and needs.For example, few years ago there was craze for mechanical engineering field in college students because of high job availability, but in last 3-4 years the job availability ratio in mechanical engineering is very low comparatively.

In sum, I believe that if a student is interested and passionate about a field, even if it has a low job availability comparatively, he/she must select that field instead of giving preference to high job availability field.Then only the student will be able to learn and succeed.In conclusion, students should choose the field wisely according to their interest rather than considering the factor of job availability.