The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Countries today, when spoke of, are classified as developed, developing or underdeveloped based on their economy, standard of living and other standard parameters. But when do we call a country a great nation? It is necessary that we recall here that when we refer to a nation we refer to all its people. Thereby, it is conscpicuos then that when we assosiate a nation with greatness it has to do with the people it constitutes of.

When a certain individual achieves fame, what is commonly enquired about is his/her upbringing. This individual is celebrated relatively more if he/she was from a middle class family instead of one that is abundantly rich. This is because the first example smittens in the common people with a thought that they too can achieve limelight if the other individual, arising from similar circumstances, did. Hence it is no doubt that if a nation regularly produces estimable individuals who were from the common mass, the nation must definitely be doing something systematically great.

Lets then consider the simpler notion to call a nation great simply based on the number of achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists. It does sound convincing for the technology that the country posseses is dependent on its scientists diligence. The nations well being depends on its ruler. And throughout history Kingdoms prevailed primarily due to its rulers achievements. The nations architecture replicates its rich tradition and so does its art. It should be straight forward for us now to conclude that the mere presence of great inviduals implies a great nation, shouldn’t it? But how fair is it to do so when these people (rulers, artists or scientists) only represent a limited percentage of the population? Without considering the well being of the majority of the population the nation is represented by, should we call it great?

Clearly, what is required in consideration here is how much role does a nation play in ensuring the success of its people. If a nation played no role in the development and success of their artists and scientists would it still be right call the nation great? It can be avered here that one can only do so given if it had placed systems to support its citizens in their endeavours. Only then can it produce hailed individuals and continue to do so.

It can be thus concluded that while the achievements of nation depends on the success of its rulers scientist and artist, it must cater to the welfare of the people to be able to continue to achieve greatness.