The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Although the standard of a good nation is somewhat changeable for the distinct characteristics of each era, it is generally undeniable that the most crucial qualities of a great nation are the capability of offering satisfactory welfare to almost every individual and the creativity in philosophy, science and art truly memorable for the next generation. Considering in a historical perspective, the value of mentally wealth as an indicator of a good nation tends to overpass physical wealth.

Admittedly, the significance of social welfare is indisputable for the development of any nation. For one thing, only by providing most citizens a good live can a society be stable without being subverted, which is a premise for the continuing and prosperity of it. For another, based on a decent economic condition, people are capable of receiving good education and thereby creating mental wealth easier. Accordingly, the general welfare is an indispensable indicator for a good nation.

Nonetheless, advance in the field of philosophy, science and arts is the perpetual treasure left by a nation. Since the standard of a good nation is largely set by later generations, those advance ought to be the surer indicator. When it comes to Ancient Rome, no one can neglect the miserable life people underwent, yet the magnificent work on laws such as the Law of Twelve Tables provides descendants with a paradigm of ruling. Its influence lasts for centuries so that even today’s lawmakers tend to refer to some codes of Ancient Rome. That is how a society can generate cultural effects, which can best judge wether it is a good nation.

Moreover, mental achievements are the very impression of a nation’s existence. After overturns generation after generation, few legacy can be remain. And the most enduring heritage is undoubtedly those mental accomplishments. For instance, Italy during Renaissance was deeply imprinted in history for the tremendous creation in literature and and art. Today when people talk about that age, Michelangelo is mentioned for his masterpieces in painting and architecture with imponderable esthetic and historic value. Another landmark figure, Leonardo Da Vinci created opuses that have inspired not only painters but scientists as well. With everlasting mental wealth left by those elites, the nation is eternally memorized by history. Conclusively, only mental achievements can be immoral and thereby indicates the value of a nation.

To sum up, while the general welfare of people is an indispensable basic for the prosperity of any nation, it is mental accomplishments created by elites that leave the most precious wealth to the next generation and eventually prove the existence of an age. Thus historically considering, mental achievements better indicate a great nation.