Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teachers’ profession play an important role in shaping a student’s future. It would not be wrong to say that student’s complete life depends, to an extent, on teacher and his teachings. Thus it is very important for academic institution to take all necessary measures to keep teachers productive, creative and motivated. Moreover, teaching is a profession like that of engineer, doctor, janitor, sales person etc. Every profession we can think of, employs some kind of incentivization on basis of professional’s work. Teaching is no different. Academic institutions analyzes number of data points, regarding teachers, collected during the academic year at the time of their appraisal.

The issue presented that ‘Teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance’ vouches to consider additional metric i.e. students’ performance in deciding teachers’ salaries. Though it seems fair recommendation but after rumination my views incline towards disagreeing the claim.

In an average class size and class length, let’s take 30 students and 1 hr as standard, it’s very very difficult for a teacher to check on progress of each and every student. It’s even more time consuming to do that on regular basis if it takes at least 10 mins to check on one student’s learning. Spending 5 hours on just checking what student has imbibed and that too for just one teacher and one subject turn out to be ridiculous setting.

Also, the idea of not be able to teach a topic properly, even if the teacher is doing best, would constantly bug them and lead to stress and depression of some level. This would directly affect their productivity and can lead disastrous results than it was expected to be.

Moreover, many students don’t pay attention in class willfully. Some students don’t change their behavior even after severe reprimanding. On other hand, some students even if they try hard, can’t build up interest or understanding of the subject. It’s very hard for students to perform well if the subject does not intrigue them. In all cases, it would be very unfair for teachers if their earnings are in hands of such students.

Although, given claim will compel teachers to take their job with much more seriousness and efforts, by completing course rather than giving it off to self study, the price they would pay for this setting cannot be fully compensated in monetary form. After addressing all of the above reasons and examples, it’s best for academic institutions to not consider this as a metric to appraise teachers.