Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

The innovation of smartphones and mobile applications brings solutions to the world's problems. Technology allows us to accelerate our moves in a way we never imagined before. Technology enables many ways to improve our life quality and make our lives easier.

Technology has provided us with many ways to stay connected to people we love, even from a great distance. This has been used thoroughly by people who study outside their country. An Indonesian student who studies in the United States used his Skype application to do a video call with his parents back in Jakarta with just a few clicks away from their computers. This demonstrates that the use of technology able to break physical barriers and distance problems. In the past, postal services were used as the main communication between countries and it could take weeks for the delivery. This shows the development from postal to mobile applications such as Skype dramatically changes the way we communicate.

Additionally, technology introduces a new concept of an economic process called "economic-sharing". Instead of buying or selling goods/services, people renting and borrowing goods/services from other people. This has been exemplified by various companies such as Airbnb and Grab. Airbnb allows some people to host their places to visitors who want to stay in the area. In this way, both parties mutually gain benefits from each other interaction. The visitor can pay cheaper cost compared to book a hotel, where they charged you with taxes and additional cost and the host can gain money without lengthy setup of the room. Not only that, the visitor and the host can interact with each other in a different way if hotels want to interact with the customer.

Development of technology, however, allows a bigger chance for digital crime. Hackers can easily steal data from your online activities and use the data for inappropriate purposes without consent. Data and privacy leaks still frequently occurred even companies already invest a huge amount of money to improve personal data protection.

Today's use of technology makes people's lives easier with the increasing complexity of the world. Many problems of the past have been solved with technology. Technology also allows for a more cheaper and efficient life. Although there are still some problems arisen from technology development, its use has more benefits to the world.