To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When trying to glean the most important characteristics of a society, or place, ie: the landscape, demographic, and architecture, one might think that studying the major cities in each region is the key to understanding the people and culture of that region. Alternatively, in most cases, the very opposite it true. Most major cities, because they are home to tourists, and people traveling for business, have become much more streemlined and homogoneous. Major cities, are not only trying to make any and all visitors compfortable, they are also trying to project an image that they want visiters to see. So in fact, it’s the smaller cities, the rural small towns, that are still steeped in tradition and culture that should be studied if one wants to truly understand the society that lives in that place.

Having grown up in Tucson, Arizona, this descrepsency became very clear. Although Tucson is a rather large city compared to other cities and towns in Arizona, it certainly has a lot more culture and authenticity, than it’s sister city and state capitial of Phoenix, Arizona. Phoenix, is a city that is trying to pretend that it is not part of the southwest, or even a city in a dessert, overall Phoenix is much greener, has a wealthier demographic, and is much more clean and modern than Tucson is.

If you take a drive through Phoenix, you will see, lush green lawns, a river full of water, trees, and flowers. Phoenix does not look like a desert city. The city has water pumped in from the Colorado and the Hover damn, that is used just to make the landscape more aestically pleasing. Phoenix looks like Southern Claifornia without the ocean. Tucson, looks a city, that was once and still is an old south western town. Most front yards are filled with dirt or gravel. There is very litter grass and are very little trees. Cactus are everywhere and grow everywere. It is hot and arid and dry and the landscape and the culture still reflect that. You will still see people working outside in large hats- or sombreros similar to those our neighbors to the south in mexico still wear. Tucson, and other cities in southern Tucson, Yuma, Tubac, and Bisby, are all full of dusty trails that lead out into an empty desert.

In Phoenix, not all, but the majority of the population is wealthy. In Phoenix, especially in a suburb called Scott’s Dale, beautiful expenisive cars, and large shopping malls with store such as Nordstroms can be found. In Tucson, there is a mix of classes. There are fancy houses and cars, next to neighborhoods with mobile homes and shacks. A lot of our shopping is still local. Down town and 4th avenue are filled with thrift stores and family owned businesses. Unlike Phoenix, Tucson does not present as an overly corpotate, rich society, and this is again reflected in the small towns and cities of Arizona. Most people live a middle to lower class life, and have modest houses and cars.

In Phoenix, there are intricate freeway systems, twisting and turning ans stacked up and over and under. In Tucson there is one freeway. In Phoenix there are large, modern, clean office buildings. Tucson, has some of these as well, but a lot of it is a beuatiful, ecleptic mix of converted ware houses and adobe buildings. There is color and art and graphiti all around, especially in down town Tucson. Everywhere can be seen evidence of a rich, hispanic influence and culture.

A society is not a refelection of it’s major cities. Most major cities are trying to produce an image, be homogoneous, be attractive to all who visit. The smaller towns and cities is where the culture and tradition is still alive, truly defining it’s society.