To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Major cities do not always give us valuable information about the nature of a society, as exemplified in the recent Brexit vote. More than half of Britain’s population opted to exit the European Union; however, in major cities such as London, the vote was for “remain”. This signals a discrepancy in both knowledge on current political issues and adaptability to new policies between heavily developed urban areas and the province. Moreover, it shows that the opinion of the individuals living in major cities varies from that of those living in smaller ones.

One may look at the main cities...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.