To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.
In recent contemporary, World is moving faster as well as major cities of
any country. Though major cities played an important role to understand
the most important characteristic but i partially agree with this statement.
Liberation war museum, which is located in Dhaka, the main city of Bangladesh.
Backed in 1971, Bangladeshi people fought for their freedom. That is the main heritage of Bangladeshi people. Thirty-three million people died in this
war for their own freedom, for their national freedom. If anyone wants to know
that then they have to go to the Liberation War Museum for details. Then they will
know what happened back in 1971 and what sacrifice did Bangladeshi people
. Therefore, major cities played an important role here.
Similarly, Shaheed Minar, which is located in Savar, thirty kilometers away
from Dhaka. That is another heritage of Bangladesh and a national monument.
on 21 and 22 February,1952 students from Dhaka University, Dhaka medical
College and political activist were killed when Pakistani police opened
fire on Bangladeshi protesters who were demanding official status for their
native language. Thus, Shaheed Minar was established to commemorate who died for their mother tongue. So it has an important characteristic on Bangladeshi people.
Though Major cities have an important role to understand the most important
characteristic of society but one must have to go rural site to a profound
understanding of their culture, their past. For example, in Bangladesh, their real culture alive in the rural site. Their traditional Lungi, their farming,
their natural beauty all in the rural side. So it is necessary to visit the countryside or further explore some other cities to learn about their culture,
heritage.
In essence, major cities always provide information and various characteristics
of a society. However, one can truly know about culture if they go to some other
cities like rural side or smaller city.