To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement overshadows the importance of major cities while attempting to understand the characteristics of a society. While mentioning about the attributes of a society confined not to the narrow scope but, encompasses a wide variety of topics such as the clothing trends, diversity of food and worshiping culture followed by each group of people. Also, major cities, on the other hand, are characterized as the best reflection of the recent trends in the country.

The statement attempts to bridge the study of major cities to understand the society. But deeply flawed by the assumption that prominent areas/cities exactly mirrors the tradition and customs of the area. While it is true that major cities are in commensurate with the latest updates, it might also be valid for those cities to accustom to the changing fashion thereby, losing its traditional values.

Furthermore, immigration though, cannot be confined to the major cities alone is one of the biggest backdrop and source for changes in society greatly calls into question the given statement. In the case where people from different places accumulate together, the interchange of concepts with their neighborhoods eventually increases the possibility of losing their very culture. In addition, due to the increase in technological advancements, people tend to be in sync with the latest updates. For instance, with the advent of inline shopping across the globe, the clothing fashion suffered a great swing.

On the other hand, rural areas comprised of indigenous people of the society are dogmatic to any changes to their nomadic culture sound to be more appropriate in holding the tradition. For example, Mongolia popularly known for withstanding its conventional custom holds a big leap in comprehending the nature of a society.

The recent advancements and easy transportation revolutionized in great proportion than anytime in the history. Therefore, the statement linking the major cities to characteristics of a society is inappropriate as many factors as discussed could possibly undermine the idea to great extent.