To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

It is difficult to define and completely understand the social traits of a nation without scrutinizing all cities within the nation. However, concerning the feasibility and effectiveness, one would be better off studying the major cities first rather than minor cities.

Admittedly, the significance of the social characteristics of minor cities cannot be ignored because they might can have their own cultural originality and peculiarities that are not influenced surrounding major cities. A dialect used in a specific area is an example of this aspect. Since spoken words usually reflect the culture in which they are used, including the way of communication among people and expressing their feelings and thoughts, understanding the dialect of a certain city could be a key approach to knowing cultural aspects. Thus, considering unique characteristics in minor cities is surely one way to find out important perspectives and grasp a society.

However, it can be easily inferred that major cities have the features of the majorities of a society from the point of view of population. Seoul is one of the biggest city in the world in where over 10 millions people live. Major cultural trends, such as fashion, food, and entertainments, are made from Seoul and spread throughout the nation of South Korea. Also social and political arguments are mainly rooted in the conflicts among the habitants in Seoul, and it can be resolved as a form of the policy that can have a significant impact on the provincial governments. So the significant characteristics of a nation could be discerned more effectively by looking over major cities

In addition, due to the technological advances of human being, the main characteristics of major cities can easily pervade to minor cities. One of the reasons for explaining this isomorphism is the Internet. When people who are not in major cities want to find and know social trends and issues of the society, they can access a myriad of information within just several mouse clicks. Even also they can acquire these information from mobile devices on their hands during they move anywhere. The omnipresence of capability to access the Internet makes people more synchronized in their interests and knowledge.

In this regard, without knowing the uniqueness of minor cities, it is difficult to wholly understand the social characteristics of one’s nation. Also viewing major cities of a nation is more helpful to know important characteristics of its society because of its population impact and the isomorphic tendency with other cities when it comes to concerning practicable and effectual study.