To understand the most important characteristics of a society/country, It is adequate to study its major cities.

The most important characteristics of any society – and country too, are often explicitly understood by observing some major, and mega-cities of that society, and the country. Although, some people would argue that to know the society, or country, thoroughly one must go through the every corner of the country, but the fact is the representation of a country is preserved in major cities of any country. Therefore, I support the contention that to have in-depth knowledge about any country, it is sufficient to observe its major cities, and its associated lifestyle.

Those who claim that it is not sufficient for one to have complete knowledge about any country unless he visits the every corner of it would give reasons like, in Nepal Raute is very endangered, and most valued ethnic group living in jungles of some remote regions; it is not possible to know about them in detail by simply studying some cities – Kathmandu, Pokhara, and Chitwan. Clearly, it is almost impossible to have meticulous knowledge about something without going there. However, their claim has lots of fallacies because the government of Nepal has done a lot to preserve their culture, tradition and life style by making museums in cities like Pokhara and Chitwan. The government is doing its best to bring them to city area of Chitwan and promoting their natural way of life in the capital city, that is, Kathmandu. Hence, one can gain complete knowledge about them by visiting cities like Kathmandu, Pokhara, and Chitwan of Nepal.

Now, consider the other aspect of the argument: it is adequate for one to gain information about any society/country by visiting its main cities. Nepal is considered as a Hindu country full of temples in each walk. When one arrives to Kathmandu by airplane, he will see big photo of Gautam Buddha with caption “Welcome to Nepal – Birthplace of Lord Buddha”. Kathmandu valley alone harbors seven out of ten UNESCO world heritage site and everyone can observe the cultural treasure which is the clear representation of entire Nepal. By walking few hours in the valley and reaching the Nagarkot, a very popular tourist distination for sightseeing, everyone can observe the Mt. Everest and its associated himalayan range, and easily the himalayan treasure of Nepal can be studied.

Like Nepal, India and Pakistan are also rich countries. Indian and Pakistani cities like Mumbai and Islamabad easily gives the information about the beauty of the respective countries. While having dinner at Hotal Taz of Mumbai, or having meal at Hotel Monal located in vertex of Islamabad, one can understand the food habits and associated tradition of peoples of respective countries.

To recapitulate, it is clear that it is enough to observe, or visit, some major cities of any society, or country, to have comprehensive understanding about that society or country. The examples of Nepal, India and Pakistan illustrated above are enough to bolster this argument. The crux of people, and their lifestyles are vividly mirrored in cities.