Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The proposition that universities should mandate students to take courses outside their field of study is highly contentious. However, a good reflection on the meaning and objectives of education and the current challenges it is obligated to tackle would be enough to support the statement.

Education, as defined by John Dewey, is the process of facilitating learning and acquiring knowledge, skills, beliefs, values and habits. A system where this learning process is confined to a particular discipline without any orientation with other areas undermines this meaning of education and its purpose. To understand one’s place in society and respect others’ viewpoints, one needs to be acquainted with anthropology, psychology and sociology. Similarly one’s position in the physical and meta-physical world can only be understood by learning astronomy, physics, theology, philosophy, political science, etc. Moreover, aesthetic appreciation of the world around needs familiarity with fine arts, performing arts and literature.

While education does require mastery in one particular domain in order to make significant contribution in it, this mastery cannot be achieved without a broad knowledge in other areas. For instance, political scientists must know psychological, sociological and historical events that shaped political ideologies; anthropologists must understand various political and social events that shaped human culture; etc. Even in technical fields this holds true e.g. computer engineers must be aware about different businesses, communication, transport, etc. to develop relevant softwares, scientists needs technical writing skills for publishing their work, engineers must know market demands and challenges to develop smarter solutions.

With the embracement of interdisciplinary research, it has become indispensable to have a broad knowledge base in order to excel. Without knowledge of human anatomy and cognition, it would not have been possible for researches to develop human bots. Similarly, without understanding of dynamics of motion, innovation of four-legged animal robots by MIT researcher would have been a dream. Juxtaposing different discipline and amalgamating them into a unified design made these inventions possible. It is because of this holistic scientific approach e.g. mixing architecture with nature, Mathematics with Music, arts with Science that new unimaginable scientific feats are coming to the fore.

Some may argue that merely dabbling with myriad academic offerings would result in dilettantes and not professionals, unable to make significant contribution in any endeavor. This can only be averted by not over extending one’s academic pursuits and striking a proper balance between one’s major field of study and other discipline. Another argument emphasizes the fundamentals of university education – specialization and streamlining. When students are coerced to take up courses not necessarily required, it diverts concentration. The already existing pressure on students due to gigantic syllabus, impossible deadlines, crunch time, etc. hinders them from focussing. This can be addressed by making students aware of the benefits different subjects that can help them excel in their own field and encourage them to take up those relevant modules instead of forcing. This in turn would promote a sense of responsibility and independence on part of students.

In conclusion, a pragmatic approach for universities is to encourage students to take additional subjects by highlighting the importance of different inter-disciplinary courses for excelling in their own professional careers and allowing them to decide and chose what they want to study instead of forcing them.