Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Determining social level and the future occupation, getting proper education plays a significant role in anybody's life. Some people argue that universities should require students to take courses only in their subject of study, while others disagree. Although it is true that by selecting only courses on the field of study, students would focus on their major and become professional in their field, I believe, requiring students to select some courses out of their field can benefit them more. In the following lines, I elaborate more on my perspective.

First, studying a variety of courses outside of their area of study, students grow multidimensional. Of course, depending on students level of study these elective courses should be designed meticulously, otherwise, they would distract students from their own field instead of prospering them. For example, if engineering students take some courses such as public relationship and negotiation from business school, they learn how to cope with their coworkers and how to negotiate in different situations. However, if they only study engineering subjects, even if they become a good engineer, they lack some necessary skills to be successful.

Moreover, students, mostly, select their major at the age of 18 with minimum experience and, therefore, it is probable that they are not sure about their subject. If they could select courses out of their field, they can evaluate their real interest and may even cause them change their major. This way, they would be sure about their area of study, motivated enough and more probable to have a prosperous future.

Additionally, upon choosing a variety of courses in different fields, students can increase the probability of finding a job. For example, if a physics student studies some courses on computer programming, he would qualify for both field's job requirement, so his chance is higher to get a job.

In sum, requiring students to select some courses out of their field would benefit them tremendously. However, universities should provide educational consultants for them and help them to take these courses cautiously, otherwise, choosing a variety of courses without a prior map and haphazardly would distract students from their field of study.