Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Universities should not require the students to take courses only within their field of interest. University is an institution where grown up individuals come to study. They are mature enough to decide courses on their own and restricting them may not lead to any good.

At university level students come from different backgrounds and different countries. Each country has its own market and each market have its own requirments. Candidates may have aims of pursuing engineering while also developing public speaking skills that may be a must have skill in their hometowns. Moreover, there may be students from areas, like agricultural rural areas of Pakistan, while being experts at agriculture, must have basic engineering and repairing skills so as to deal with the machinery they would be using in their towns.

There may also be students who are not sure about their careers. What if they are required to choose a field and then pursue it? How will they make the decision? A student may have liked both chemistry and physics at high school, but is not sure which one he can select as a permenant discipline.

Further, the country and the companies usually require individuals who can handle multiple types of tasks. Like, an engineer might be required to be a good supervisor, or a manager is required to have basic knowledge of science to run the team effectively. There may be cases when doctors are required to be excellent at public speaking to help demonstrate the effects of a certain medicine.

Though, it is true that requiring students to study courses that are truely related to their field, saves a lot of time. Students, once decided about their interests, can focus on the required courses and come out as competitive individuals in much less time. They are able to serve the society for a longer period of time. This may also help reduce monetary burden on the institutes. But the requirement of just studying courses related to one's field will deprive the society of some great all rounded individuals.

Thus, we can see that going to an extreme is not that benificial. Though, having selective things to study may seem attractive, but to make it a requirement has its demerits, which would lead to decline of well balanced society.