Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The issue of universities requiring students to take courses only within the field they wish to pursue has been highly contested. Some people believe that choosing a field and specializing once one is in college proves to be most advantageous. On the contrary, others believe that attending college entails exploration and experimentation within a variety of different fields in order to best choose what is the best profession to pursue. I believe the latter to be the most beneficial for a student attending university. It is my understanding that implementing an academic policy that compels students to take a variety of courses within different fields is the best way a university can ensure their students will be well-rounded individuals with a more comprehensive and wide-ranging understanding of the world.

First, in declaring that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying, there is a population of students that is being completely disregarded: those students that are unsure of what field they want to pursue. If all universities were to implement that policy, those students who would like to explore and sample different fields before choosing one would be at an extreme disadvantage.

Furthermore, for students that have identified their academic predilection, limiting them to only take courses within those fields they are interested in pursuing precludes them from expanding their horizons. Acquiring knowledge about a variety of different fields would augment a student’s understanding of the world at large: it provides acquaintance with assorted subjects, which offers a more diverse and holistic background, but also provides the opportunity to complement that student’s field of interest. Although it is imperative to have specialists, it is also crucial for those specialists to know and understand things outside of their field. For instance, a chemistry student that knows nothing about history would have a very narrow appreciation of the world around him. Yet, learning history would provide him the opportunity to learn not only about many historical events that have shaped the world, but historical events that have specifically shaped his own field, such as the history of how Dalton developed The Atomic Theory or how Pasteur discovered the process of pasteurization. Similarly, a psychology student that has never taken a biology class would not be able to supplement his study of the mind with how the body works, which are indubitably complementary.

On the other hand, it could be argued that having to take courses unrelated to a student’s field of interest may interfere with those that are within his or her field. Additionally, having to take additional courses may end up being a burden for students that feel they have to give up their own study plan to complete courses that take up their valuable time. For example, a student majoring in mathematics does not necessarily need a course in contemporary American poetry in order to be a good mathematician or to excel in her profession. However, as was discussed previously, breadth and comprehensiveness are just as important as specialization.

In conclusion, learning about other fields, aside from a student’s field of interest, can broaden that student's horizons: it can provide a deeper, more comprehensive understanding of the world, and can also complement the student’s own field. And, while an academic policy that requires students to take courses only within the field they wish to pursue may lead to specialized experts, it precludes versatility and breadth. Thus, the best thing a university can do for its students is provide them with the opportunity to take a variety of courses within different fields, which will make them well-rounded individuals with a more comprehensive and wide-ranging understanding of the world.