Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Science and technology today are growing at an exponential rate. As a result, we now have a plethora of avenues to perform research and development. This has also resulted in universities starting numerous departments, each pertaining to many diverse areas, engineering and science in particular. Hence, being an undergraduate could have never been so overwhelming considering the choices they would have to make from.

One of the most important decisions a student takes is the choice of his/her field of study. The best way to counter this problem could be to do atleast an introductory course in the fields the student tends to have an inclincation initially. Given the wide range of subjects available, students would not be able to make the best choice if his/her curriculum restricts them from doing so. This choice effects the future of the student in the field he/she has chosen prematurely. So, it only makes sense to allow freedom to the student to exercise discretion over the courses they would prefer to undertake.

The other problem could be a one-dimeonsional effect that a stringent curriculum can cause. Problems of today's world where solutions are non trivial are solved through colloboration of researchers from different areas. The examples of this are umpteen. DNA analysis is widely used today among archeologists. Most of the neuroscience pursued today is based on statistics. If the students are not encouraged to explore other areas of study they may not be able to participate in such an endeavour due to lack of insight in each others field of work.

Employability is one among the major concerns of college students. Every graduate would aim to be employable at the end of this coursework. It is possible that a particular field of study may not offer great employment options. And unemployment is something every university would like to address. The situation could definitely be ameliorated if students are encouraged to persue courses from other streams which could guarantee them better employability, thereby allowing them to persue their interests without hindering their chances of employability. Considering the above reasons, it is quite conspicous that the universities allow their students to persue courses that are not confined to their field of interest.