The way a message is delivered is often more important than the message itself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As kids, we all may have played the game Chinese Whispers where a message has to be passed on to the next child in line till it reaches the last one. The aim is to realize the disparity in the message the last child received and the original message and laugh to your hearts content. I agree with the notion that the way messages are delivered is more important the the content of the message.

First and foremost, a person's tone affects the message immensely. The same message conveyed in two different tones could have highly different impacts. A person red with rage may happen to convey a simple message intending no harm in a totally different way. The receiver may be offended by the same or start wondering what wrong he did in order to receive a 'shouting' as he feels it. Something as simple as raising your voice automatically adds audacity and an aura of anger. On the other hand a manager who has to force his employees to complete a project as a deadline is approaching may not sound strong enough if he conveys his order through sentence structures that do allow for strictness. 'I hope you can finish by Thursday' isn't quite the same as 'I require the work done by Thursday, no excuses'.

While the tone of an individual is extremely important, the body language, matters a great deal too. Eye contact, attire and involvement of hands as some of the factors that affect the way a message is delivered. For example, two students are asked to present on a certain topic individually the next day. While student one has deep knowledge of the topic, student two does not. However, the exhibit different body language. Student one is timorous and is unable to deliver is content in a good flow, she cannot maintain eye contact and has her hands folded in front of her. The audience eventually loses interest and stops following her. Student two on the other hand has less developed content but manages to keep the audience intrigued by maintaining eye contact, involving hands during explanation and pacing through the class. Albeit student one's knowledge on the field, she couldn't make use of the advantage as she couldn't convey her message in an effective way.

Finally, the form of delivery of a message impacts the reception of it too. An opponent may say this is irrelevant as most messages that are objective are not influenced by the means that they are conveyed by. However that is not the case because different form of communication focus on different ideas. Videos, text messages, e-mails, broadcast on TV, newspapers and even music are forms of delivery of a message and each has a different purpose. Videos may have a far more direct impact over say broadcast text messages as the audience can connect with them easily. Likewise, a text message directed to someone can have more individualized focus over songs.

To sum up, there are more reasons to elucidate how the delivery of a message is often more important than the content itself as compared to vice-versa. However, one must always remember that this is a debatable topic and there can be circumstances where the reasoning may not apply.