As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that as our knowledge increases, things do not become more comprehensible, rather more complex and mysterious. Surely, from kindergarten to college, the knowledge is getting more and more complex. Nonetheless, as our repertoire of knowledge is getting bigger every day, we are able to apprehend more and more complex things. The statement is therefore false.

As we acquiring more knowledge, things do become more complex, but it does not mean that they are not comprehensible. The process for a person to learn, by nature, is from easy knowledge to more difficult ones. Along with the process of learning, we can apprehend more complicated knowledge. Take learning math for an example: people learn basic calculations before they move on to equations. The more we learn, the harder we will find Math is. Nevertheless, most people have mastered Fractions, Equations, and Coordinate Geometry by the end of high school. Therefore, knowledge is getting more complex as the nature of learning process; still, it could still be comprehensible.

In addition, in any field when people acquire more knowledge, their repertoire will for sure get expanded, which makes things relatively more comprehensible. Surely, one can understand more when they have more knowledge and richer experience. For example, in the field of teaching English language learners with diverse cultural backgrounds, a more experienced and better-trained teacher can better understand how different cultures affect the learners’ learning behavior and out coming. By contrast, lacking knowledge will result in can result in cultural misunderstanding. Thus, having more knowledge helps people appreciate the more complex knowledge.

Surely, some knowledge does seem complex and mysterious; yet, it only because as laymen, we do not study related knowledge in that field. Take Physics for example, as a subject like Math and English, most people have learned Newton’s Laws before college. It is therefore not much of a mystery. By contrast, with the black hole theory, if not majoring in the field, people seldom dig deep to study it. Consequently, it appears to be complex to common people. So, if we have studied and acquired more knowledge in a field, things will not be so much of a mystery.

In conclusion, the more we acquire the knowledge in a field, the more we can apprehend complex things in the field. For things in other fields, they appear mysterious only because we are laymen. If we acquire more knowledge about them, they will also be comprehensible.