"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning."

Do we learn more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own? I concede that disagreement can caused stress, tension and commotion but its not completely true that we learn much more from from people whose views we share. You can say that we preferred those people who share views than those whose views condradict our own.

Firstly, we prefer people who share same views as ours because we want an friendly and undebatable environment to hang around. There is no contradiction and inhibition among such people, but we can learn much more from those people whose ideas and views are different from ours because this causes an debatable arguments among such people and if you put your ego aside and understand their views, you can much more than that.

However, disagreement can cause stress, commotion, tension and inhibition. I concede with that but you have to take that as positively to gain something new, much more knowledge, Yeah sometimes you don't agree with people that doesn't means they're wrong. Its just they have different views and ideas. For an example, If a teacher helps student to understand a topic and teached them about it and students don't comes with any doubts or anything. Then they're passive learners but if students discussed and try to learn a topic by themselves then they have doubts and questions that doesn't match with teacher views and their views contradicts. So, its okay to disagree with people and that doesn't means they're wrong. people who have contradict views are strive to learn more, they reinvent things like scientists and innovators who constantly believe their ideas which contradicts with others.

I'm agree with author's statement but on a certain level, as you can see if our views condratict with others that leads to argument or debate which will help us to understand others views and we have much more chances of learn more. As you can see if two person argued about something they present their views and basis of views, example, theories which leads to share your knowledge with others that can help you to learn more.

Disagreement can surely cause stress if the criticism taken in a negative way, if you take it as positively it can changed things that gives you chance learned new things and others view. If ready to welcome contradicting views and ideas, than it will surely increase your knowledge manifold.