We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether one is learning how to drive a car, speak another language or how to program there exists a variety of methods one can employ to achieve their desired learning goal. I believe that one of the most fundemental method is communication between people; both with others who agree and disagree with your current view. This fosters challenges of old ideas and fosters new ones. Hence I sit on the fench on this statement and believe that one can both learn from peoples who views we share as well as people whose views contradict our own.

By communicating and conversing with people who share our own views we can expand and enrich our own understand and knowledge on the given topic. This is fundamentially important in a world where such complicated topics exist which are incomprehensible to one person- even if they are a world leader in their field. One of the great modern example of this are academic conferences, where numerous world leaders in their field culminate in one city to discuss the current state of the art technique and ideas. An old professor of mine once said that the reason why conferences are still, in the day and age where all academic papers can be accessed via the internet, is due to the conversation that is sparked between a group of people who share the point of view and often the greatest breakthroughs come because of this.

Although in many situations - primarily where the believed theory/views is correct - it is great to converse with other like minded and like viewed people it is crucial to all people to communicate with those who believe opposing views. Only through conversing, discussing and even arguing with people who share opposing views can a wrong idea be found. Although ridiculed by many whilst alive, Giallo who theorised that the Earth revolved around the Sun and that the Earth is not the centre of the Universe, Giallo refused to cease spreading his finding and eventually other leading scientists of that time were able to see past their dogmatic views and accept that Giallo's hypothesis was indeed correct. Without conversing with Giallo it would have been impossible for their view to be altered and the fact that the Earn revolves around the sun and not vise-versa would have been the commonly accepted belief for years to come.

Unfortunately in some situations there is no benefit in communicating with people who share the same view or people who hold a view that contradicts our own. The former occurs when two people hold exactly the same views and evidence to support their view, in consequence no knew information and ideas can be found from this. Certain departments from world leading Universities do not like accepting their own Masters students for Ph.D. research and instead prefer the alternate methods of thinking as well as thoughts and ideas that graduates from other institutions contain. In regards to the latter in some situations, I believe it is best to ignore the views of others because, being frank, they are a waste of time. Being an academic I do not make a statement of this magnitude lightly, however just the other week I was talking to fellow colleagues and a man came along and spurted nonsensical information about why the Earth is flat - an obviously fundamental view that has been proven a multitute of times over. After half an hour of presenting our own views it was blatantly obvious that his views were so ingrained and dogmatic that our time and breath was being wasted.

Communicating with people who share the same view as well as communicating with those who share contradictory views are vital components to fostering human ideas and theories. People with identical views are able to expand your thoughts and beliefes by allowing one to 'bounce' ideas off them to enrich the global understanding. Those with contradictory views are able to challenge your own and provide a basis for determining which theories are correct. However in certain situations, these are not able to provide any useful clarity. People may share a clone of one's ideas and evidence to support these ideas and hence no new information, ideas or theories can be shared. However people may also have such firm, dogmatic views about ideas that are proved to beyond a shadow of doubt that there is no use in a continued discussion of the topic and the time should instead be spent on other tasks.