We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Many have argued that success can not be enjoyed with out the turmoil that struggles bring. The question as to whether the most valuable lessons are learned in life from struggling or enjoying success is deep rooted and complex. During the struggle to succeed, a person can learn a lot about themselves. Limitations become clear and the ability to overcome those limitations can augment a person's feeling of self worth and accomplishment. Therefore, I believe that more can be learned from the struggle than from enjoying success.

It is during a struggle that a person is faced with the most challenges. In the act of overcoming these challenges, a lot can be revealed about a person and their character. For example, Liz Hartel was raised in an affluent family and begun horseback riding at an early age. She was very successful in her professional dressage career and did not face many barriers to success until she was diagnosed with polio. Liz became so weak that it was impossible for her to hold herself upright or walk on her own. Determined to return to her horseback riding career, she worked intensively day in and day out. Eventually, against all odds, Liz was able to compete in dressage again. Not only did Liz return to dressage after her paralysis, she also won numerous awards and served as a role model and inspiration to other young people with polio. Although Liz was extraordinary prior to her diagnosis, it was not until the struggle with polio that her admirable character was uncovered. Liz Hartel's struggle has many more valuable lessons to offer people around the world than does her easily obtained success in dressage.

Additionally, it is during times of struggle that heroes most often emerge. Heroes such as Martin Luther King, who until this day is renowned for his unparalleled bravery and pristine moral character. Martin Luther King was a preacher prior to the travesties of slavery and segregation. While his life as a pastor did offer some life lessons, it was the struggle for equality that made Martin Luther King's character clear and that taught the entire nation lessons about equality and peace. The struggle endured by Mr. King offered valuable lessons about heroism and standing up for your beliefs, no matter what the cost. Lessons of heroism and valor can not be learned during unchallenging times of success.

During the revolutionary war, the American colonies struggled for their freedom from British oppression. It was during the revolution that the worth of our great nation was realized. In the absence of such struggles greatness can not be realized and the most valuable lessons can not be learned. If it was not the revolutionary war, America would not be what it is today; it was during that struggle that American values were established. Such revolutions teach the value of fair treatment and independence; values that can not be learned during times of success.

In conclusion, without facing and overcoming limitations, the most important parts of our character can not be realized and the most valuable lessons can not be learned. When reminiscing, it is apparent that it was the the revolutions and great achievements in history that are rich in life lessons, not the moments of prosperity. Therefore, I firmly believe that the most valuable lessons in life stem from struggling with our limitations and not enjoying successes.