The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.
Society is a group of people with common values and ideas, where every member work towards the greater good of the
society. Leaders are chosen to steer the society towards the shared goal, But to human is to err and the leader are
not immune to mistake.Hence i firmly believe that people should always the question the authority.
Its clear in societies, especially in democratically elected systems, its the will of the people which decides
the direction of the society. The politicians only are given the power to administer as representatives
and are not considered as the power themselves. The questioning the people in authority is not the right of the
people but also a the citizens duty to correct the government when it strays away. An excellent example would
be in india where the state government was forced down common citizens for corruption in the goverment.
People of the society have a good idea on the ground realities and know what is best for the future,
when the government fails to work towards the aspirations of the people, people can force the government to relook
on there policies. Recently referendum in England to leave the EU can be considered a good example, Eu begin a european
agency was considered a foreign entity which did not represent the values of England.
It has been proved time and again that absolute power corrupts and festers the society,In modern day north Korea
the government in power(peoples republic of korea) hold absolute power over the nation of north Korea,
The authorities lead a lavish lifestyle with all the luxury of modern society,contrasting the a rustic and backward lifestyle
lead by the common citizens. The citizens are forced into starvation and depend on the generosity of the outside world to support
them while ruling class can oppress the common folk with terrible atrocity.
Society that we live in is very fluid and people who are represented will raise there voices against the existing social
authority to bring changes which can have profound impact, Abolition of slavery in America has had profound positive impact on the
todays society,if people of color had not questioned the authority today Barack obama would have become the president of America.
In conclusion, freedom to criticize the people in authority is good sign of healthy society and the citizens to should be encouraged
to exercise this precious right whenever they feel like.