The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Majority of the world nations today consist of democracy. Democracy has been inculcated into the constitution of almost every nation as a primary human right. Owing to such a situation, people are of the opinion that the well-being of a society is enhanced when many of it's individuals question authority. I completely agree with this statement and I provide the reasoning for the same in the paragraphs below.

In a country like India where there is a ruling party as well as an equivalent opposition party. It helps keep in check the overall functioning of the incumbent government. After all, the ministers that have been elected into the legislation, have been done so by the people of India. Therefore, these ministers speak for the citizens of India and question the authority when the situation of the country is getting worse. Such a healthy system of politics helps the ruling party, be wary of the steps they take and the decisions they make since it can come back to haunt them later. The ruling party have been given the authority to enhance the overall condition of the society and they should respect the society and it's members throughout their tenure.

Moreover, the present world has a majority of alert citizens that would take note of any wrong-doing on the part of the authority. Due to such awareness that is prevalent in the world today. The authority of any society fear that they can loose their power as a result of a coup, started by the people of thier society. For example, Muammar Gaddafi, the former Prime Minister of Libya was a tyrant and a dominating leader who was known for all the sufferings inflicted upon the citizens of Libya. The citizens of Libya did not question the authority at first, and by the time they did, it was already out of their hands. After years of misery and pain, Muammar Gaddafi was overthrown in a coup organized by the citizens of Libya. This proves a strong point that, individuals of today's world are capable enough to fight against injustice being inflicted upon them.

The fear that entails as a result of such coups, makes authorities realize that the individuals that have elected them, have done so in order to drive the society forward. Such questioning of authority builds up pressure on their part. And therefore, it compels them to develop the society for the citizens to reside in. Enhancements such as a better education system, better health care and better judiciary system can be possible only if the authorities are kept in check by the people of the society. There is no harm in the occasional questioning of authority to make sure that both the sides maintain a common goal, that is, betterment of society as a whole.

In sum, I am a strong supporter of the statement that the well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority. It helps keep in check, the motives of the authority. And can help them back on track if any deviations occur along the way.