The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The society’s development goes hand in hand with people’s casting doubts against the power. Not questioning will fail to address malpractice of authorities and resolve serious social issues.

Many times, people’s quality of life can be enhanced if people question authority. Ordinary people’s rightful reactions to wrongdoings of authorities are healthy; otherwise a society would become more susceptible to corruptions and injustice, leading to less security for people. In case of Sewol ferry incident, malpractice of the captain of the ship exacerbated the situation, which led to greater casualties. The captain ignored warning signals and gave wrong orders to the passengers, thus delaying the rescue project. Hearing that, galvanized citizens protested against the ship company and the government. In the end, the captain was incriminated, and the government apologized for poor organization of the rescue project. Citizens’ protests definitely helped in preventing future atrophies and showed people’s power nationwide; it enhanced the well-being of people by exerting rights and boosting national security.

Moreover, having little to no doubts towards people with power could be detrimental for the society’s well-being. Depending on the general environment of a society, citizens might be used to blindly accepting authorities’ decisions which could hamper development of the society. Take Qatar for example. It is a small, wealthy country in Middle East area with monarchy system. People’s economic well-being is fairly good, but the nation has numerous problems such as serious gender discrimination and hostility towards foreigners. Since it is not a democratic country, it is difficult for citizens to have doubts and act against the government for betterment. Therefore, the societal problems are not resolved and they are only getting worse as time goes by. This example clearly manifests that not questioning the government, or the authority can seriously harm the society’s well-being in that there is little room for reformation of the society.

All in all, ordinary people should question people with power in order to ameliorate society’s welfare. Healthy doubts and peacefully acting upon problems enhance security and quality of life. To do that, every individual in a society ought to strive to create a proper and safe social environment that allows questioning against the authority.