When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

For the past few decades, the world has witnessed an unprecedented population growth and urbanization. This has led to the shrinkage in the land available to meet several needs of the citizens. Old buildings in any city, representing its history, culture and art, have special importance warranting their preservation. The author proposes that when there is a competing interest between preserving old buildings and catering the modern needs, the latter should get precedence. Considering that both the interests are significant, priority of one over the other cannot be fixed indiscriminately and a case-by-case evaluation of pros and cons is required as such.

Admittedly, the primary obligation of any government towards citizens is to fulfil their basic needs of accommodation, health care, education, etc. Buildings from past era may not be compatible with the needs of a highly populated town centre and may lack effective utilization of space. Moreover, their maintenance is often costly without which there is always a risk of collapse thus threatening lives of its users. Therefore, the author’s proposition is justified when an unremarkable old building needs to be demolished to make ground for a multi-speciality hospital to serve the growing healthcare demands of the citizenry. Similarly, the statement holds merit when few of the many similar archaic cottages sit on a site proposed for constructing a school for underprivileged students. However, otherwise, the general precedence of modern purposes over preservation of historical assets is flawed.

Firstly, a decision about demolishing any old building for utilitarian needs must be taken on a case-by-case basis after weighing all the benefits and losses. An ancient building might well be the place where a historical event took place or a historic personality lived. It may also be the few of the surviving constructions from a bygone era. In such cases, the benefits of preserving such buildings by far outweighs the gains of serving any modern purpose.

Moreover, apart from historic importance the proposition fails to incorporate the aesthetic, intellectual and economic, loss incurred when old buildings are replaced. Ancient structures epitomize a generation’s architectural style and art so much so that the UN has declared many such structures as world heritage sites whose demolition is prohibited. These sites become tourist hotspots thereby contributing to the economy of the city. Replacing them with a concrete jungle would not only devoid the city of its past culture and tourism revenues but would also deprive many art and architecture enthusiasts of significant knowledge and learning resource. The ludicrous idea of replacing old buildings in Rome with sky-scrapers, where it would neither become New York nor will remain Rome, is enough to corroborate this point.

The statement is further flawed in its underlying assumption that destroying old building is the only solution to fulfil modern purposes. While population and immigration has risen tremendously asking for more space, there are many other alternatives besides suggesting the drastic step. Better city planning and even expanding the boundaries of the city can also serve the purpose. The proposition also precludes the possibility of co-existence of old buildings and modern amenities. There are myriad examples of well maintained and at times retrofitted ancient structures catering for the modern needs such as Connaught place in Delhi, CST railway station in Mumbai and so on.

In the final analysis, preservation of old buildings over modern developments might become the second priority in certain cases especially concerning the very basic necessities of the city. However, contrary to the generalized proposition, any such priority must be fixed on an individual basis given the historical, cultural, aesthetic and economic significance of old structures. Furthermore, alternatives ways to accommodate both the needs must be explored.