When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The technological advancements of the 21st century, improved every known sphere of the human actions, and construction field is not an exception. Prompt suggests that the modern urban buildings should be given favour over the obsolete ones. In my not so humble opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that the novel urban development should be preferenciated over the conservation of the outmoded buildings for the following reasons.

To begin with, in some particular instances old constructions are plausible source of attraction for tourists. Thus, by attracting tourists these old buildings would play a key role in overall development of the city, as they would be the major source of income. For instance, one can exemplify ancient cities of Italy as Pagma, Rome, and Venice. Most of these cities have been renowned as the major touristic site in Europe because of their history and buildings which are the artifacts and proof of the sublime European ancient traditions. The touristic flow of cities estimated in hundreds of millions every year, such a massive number of tourists definitely contribute to the well-being and development of those places. From the example, it’s reasonable to conclude that the old buildings could be conducive to the local society and preserving them is important.

However, what if these outmoded embers of the past have no historic value or any ability to entice large quantity of people? In that instance they’re not only useless but they can be deleterious in effect for the locals. Usually most of the constructions that was built by humans are not intended to last for a centuries, most of them was aimed to last for a half of a century or so. As the time moves forward, buildings become more and more rickety and without any adequate service most of them would not survive even the half of the projected life-expectancy. For instance, take the numbers of casualties that have been caused by sudden collapse of the obsolete buildings on a global scale. Every year approximately five to ten million people are dying because of dilapidated housing and their collapse. Given example illustrates the pernicious effec that old buildings could and would cause in the modern society.

Furthermore, convenient and essential infrastructure are imperative for the well-being of the local society. As an example, imagine that the local district are in dearth of the public hospital which can provide essential healthcare for the people and the construction of such paramount facility is being delayed over the concern whether the outmoded defunct factory facility should be demolitied. It may seem like such an example is unrealistic, nevertheless the contemporary life is full of such precedents, where the ‘valuable’ assets such us former industry facilities or any other sort of buildings are considered to have some value. This kind of vision deters the sustainable urban development of most cities, yet the majority of us understand that is a paramaount to develope in a clever way.

To sum up, modern construction planning should be superior for the reasons that I mentioned above. Nonetheless, the valuableness of the antiquated buildings should not be underestimated, as in some cases their existence could be conducive to the people.