Discuss the advantages and disadvantage of working from home.

Nowadays, the way tat the business is done is dramatically changing with the development in technology. As a result, enormous workers today favours and do work in remote places such as their own house. Some consider this mode of work is highly beneficial as it provides more freedom, whilst others believe this brings detrimental effects on overall working outcomes. In this essay, I will look at both merits and demerits of working at home and propose my personal opinion.

First and foremost, working remotely can remove the discomfort of commuting all the way to the work every morning. Today, almost every worker suffer horrible traffic congestion during rush-hours. However, if they are working at home, they will not be stuck in the traffic in the morning worrying about being late for work every morning at they always do. Furthermore, working from comfort of their own home provides more flexibilities in time management. Instead of working based on pre-decided schedule from the office, you are able to work under your own timetable that you can feel the most comfort with. For example, in general, people mostly have limited break time as 10 to 15 minutes. However, if you work under your own plan, you can rest as much as you want and whenever you want without worrying of your boss breathing down under your neck.

On the other hand, considering numerous distractions workers have in their own home, it will significantly bring down the working outcomes. For instance, at home, they can turn on television as they wanted, have a chat with friend and even it is unnecessary to dress up formally every single morning. These factors will clearly bring negative effect on working productivity. Moreover, working individually at home can make workers feel cut-off, and interfere with effective communications. One of the greatest portion of working at office is that you can mingle with other colleagues continuously socialise yourself which are not possible if you are working at home. Additionally, as it is disabled to communicate directly with your colleagues, false communication may occur through email and also takes time to get feedbacks as you cannot bounce off ideas from your co-workers as you need it.

By way of conclusion, there are certainly benefits and disadvantages of working at home. Despite working remotely can eliminate traffic issues and provide more freedom, it can also isolate people and remarkably reduce the productivity of works. In m personal opinion, I believe that it is substantial to maintain work-life balance, and thus although working at home would provide the most comfort, I would prefer to work in office while socialising myself and working under higher productivity.