EVEN THOUGH GLOBALIZATION AFFECTS THE WORLD'S ECONOMIES IN A POSITIVE WAY, ITS NEGATIVE SIDE SHOULD NOT BE FORGOTTEN. DISCUSS.

Over the past century there has been a dramatic change in the field of economics. Because of globalization, the world today is indeed a better place to live in. However, this concept is constantly being challenged by oppositions that highlights its negative effects.

Although there are negativities associated with globalization, there are also numerous benefits. One of the most visible outcomes is foreign investments. Mostly, a first-world country has a high cost of manpower, to lessen these expenses they choose to outsource from a developing country which is comparably lower. This will increase the employment opportunities to the said country which is beneficial to the people. One perfect example is the growing number of call centers in the Philippines.

In addition, in today’s generation many things were made possible because of the knowledge and skills from different parts of the world shared through integration of different countries. A nursing student for instance needs to study the foundation of nursing to be able to understand what the course is all about. Books were then written by authors and shared throughout the world for the nurses to have a standardized knowledge about the profession.

On the antagonistic view, this issue about globalization has its drawbacks. In today’s reality, it is clear that there is a noticeable inequality in human race. The people of a country that is economically stable may think that they are superior than others. This will result to discrimination which will cause harm to social well-being.

Another concern to talk about is the use of international trade unlawfully. Illegal drug dealing has been a major concern that needs immediate attention. There are a growing number of committed crimes related to the use of addictive drugs which was an effect of globalization. It is continuously growing and is detrimental to the society.

In general, there are considerably negative effects associated with globalization and it should be addressed properly. However, if at some point in the past, the concept of globalization was discarded, then today’s generation might not be as advanced and well informed as it is right now.