Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The key part of communication will disappear as some languages are neglected by globalization era. For this reason, the majority of people argue that life will be easier when there is a languages as a bridge for some nations because language barrier can be tackled by using fewer languages. While it is understandable for some reasons in terms of communication, many languages are the identity which has to be preserved as a culture.

Some proponents for this statement believe that using international language can acceptable for many people around the world because there is no diversity which can be a hindrance in communication. Taking ASEAN conference as an example, in this international forum, all participants are required to communicate in English, although there are many leading authorities who have different background, but they can discuss some environmental catastrophes, and find the possible solutions. It can be concluded that a specific language that is used can be useful to get win-win solution.

Regardless of this reason, some countries maintain only a national language as the mother tongue because they consider about the unity of their nation. For example, The United States determines American language as the common language for society, while America has many bustling cities which have different cultures and traditional languages. This decision is decided to avoid cross culture understanding among indigenous people and immigrants because the governments of America strongly understand that their nation consists of multicultural diversities.

On the other hand, language is a core of human being despite the difficulties to mix them as a culture. In the case of endangered some languages in the world, it is a detrimental effect of modern era when people tend to adopt the new way of life. This phenomenon will lead to some problems which relate to language. Firstly, many teenagers will lose their own culture, traditional language, and they do not have a sense of pride in their country because they only learn an international language to communicate with each other. In addition, fewer languages can be a fact that people do not aware to their culture.

In conclusion, fewer languages which are used in the world will limit the way of communication, while this condition can be worse when the new generations do not recognize their original culture. However, I believe the variety of languages can make the world more colorful so that governments should preserve some native languages as an inheritance.