Happiness is considered very important in life.

Why is it difficult to define?

What factors are important in achieving happiness?

It is true that every one of us wants to be happy through living our lives. In this essay, I am going to present a reason why defining one’s happiness is vague, and a number of factors that contribute to becoming happy.

In my opinion, the reason why the term, happiness, is hard to define is due to the fact that individual has a different view to look at the state of happiness. Happiness means different things to a different individual person. Some people value financial resources as a source of happiness, while others consider their friends and family to be a driving force of happiness. Although we are human beings, we are different in personal preferences and traits. Therefore, we tend to pursue happiness that we value the most important.

I believe that there are two factors for people to achieve happiness in life. Firstly, a sense of achievement can make a person happier. For example, a person, whose dream is to become a doctor and eventually achieves it after enormous hours of study and hard-working, would feel happier. Secondly, funds could be another factor to achieve happiness. Nowadays, there are many people who live at or below the poverty line. Those people tend to value money as a source of happiness because there are many things that they cannot afford to buy. If one of them wins a lottery and receives a huge amount of money, this person will surely be happier than anyone else.

In conclusion, my view is that the definition of happiness is uncertain as it is particular to each person, while the sense of achievement and money are the important factors for happiness.