International travel is cheaper and more convenient than ever. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, international travel become popular since the price is cheaper as well as booking flight and hotel are much more convenient than before. Although there are some disadvantages as more people travelling around the world, I still believe the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages, I will discuss details in this essay by analyzing the both sides of this.

On the one hand, the boost on the tourism industry increase the burden on the places of attractions significantly. Comparing to the past, more tourists need to be accommodated at these places, both hotels and restaurants generated more rubbishes due to this, this is harmful to the environment. Furthermore, the peaceful lifestyle in these areas is distracted by the increased amount of tourists, residents there would face more challenges such as road congestions, long queue in the shopping mall, etc. The community become more complex and criminal ratio might increase as well due to tourists would attract more criminals like thefts. Government would need put more resources and efforts to keep the society stable. Therefore, the increased tourists put a heavy burden to the tourism attractions and might be harmful to the stability in the communities around the place.

On the other hand, the surge of international tourists do bring several obvious benefits not only to the individual but also to the industry. Firstly, from individual perspective, travelling globally is really an eye-opener for most of the people, which could deepen their understanding of local cultures and lifestyle. Tourists might interact with local residents to learn new skills as well as become friends eventually. Such behaviors promote the culture's globalization, and in turn contribute to the economic development between countries.

In addition, the tourists increase contribute dramatically on the revenue growth in tourism industry. With information technology transforming, people intend to book their trips online. There are many new O2O(online-to-offline) technological companies emerging recently, which provides a much convenient way to plan the travel. I would say the increased tourism requests help these companies increase rapidly. Most of these companies earned tons of money through the increasing tourists, Airbnb is an good example on the accommodation market. Thus, the increased demand of travel promote a fast development of tourism industry, even with some new technology implemented.

In conclusion, it is true that international travellers would increase the pressure on the tourism places, but overall, I still believe the benefit that bring to both individuals and industry outweigh the disadvantages if government can impose some regulations to control the negative impacts of this.