It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

What sort of punishment should parents?

Using an appropriate method for upbringing children as a part of our future society has been one of the most crucial concerns among parents in these days. Apart from this, they are always doubtful to how should clarify the good behavior from wrong one. Since punishment has been suggested as a sole solution in many cases, in my view, the way used by parents to punish the children has many unreasonable consequences.

On the one hand, some argue that using punishment for children in earlier ages would definitely lead to some psychological problems. Because they think their mistakes can be the reason for their parents to don’t love them anymore, which means they can’t analyze the sole reason of the punishment, they just blame themselves as guilty person mistakenly. As children usually give their values from their parents point of view, relying on this policy in earlier age should not be appropriate for children. In other words, it is unlikely to change their demeanor, it is just affected the relationship between parents and children.

On the other hand, in order to distinguish right and wrong among some of the older children, parents should have set a light punishments to control their behaviors. Interestingly, it could be influential on children's social behaviors as well. For instance, children have unreasonable judgment about poor people in some cases. Which means poor person appearances would be the main aspect of this unfair judgement and they have tried to ignore them as human beings. Apart from this, parents should punish them with starting a conversation with some poor ones to know his/her stories. Also, if children make a laugh at some persons since he/she was poor parents should force them to apologize for him/her. It seems this kind of behavior from parents might certainly affect kids as they consider the parents like model of behavior.

In conclusion, although I believe that children should not be exposed from harsh punishment, in some ages using an appropriate punishment could allow them to build their own characteristic in the right way.