It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

One of the most critical responsibility of being a parent is to teach their children right morals. Some people believe that punishment plays an integral part in teaching this important lesson, but others argue against this. In my opinion, some circumstances or behaviours may require such actions, but penalizing them using force should never be the case. I believe that physical form of castigation is not only traumatizing, but more damaging than remedial in the long run.

Physical punishment promotes violence and in turn, may instill aggression in kids. Such violent approach oftentimes emphasizes on pain and not on the lessons parents may want to impart. To a child’s standpoint, they need to change their behaviours to avoid getting hurt and not necessarily because they believe that it is the right thing to do. Also, this approach often leaves emotional scars that will negatively affect their self-esteem and may otherwise distort their perception of what is good and bad.

Instead, I believe that a child should be nurtured in a more positive approach. Give them some time out to reflect on their actions and let them learn from their own mistakes. Enlighten them on why such actions are considered unacceptable and give them a chance to rectify their misconducts. I believe that children should be guided to the right path and not pushed. It is also important to understand that this is a process. It takes patience and guidance to teach children about the morality of their actions.

In summary, nurturing children in a constructive way will not only build good parental relationships, it will also lead to a better realization and understanding on the importance of moral values and right conduct.