New technology and new ways of buying and selling will transform the consumers' lives. To what degree do you agree with this statement?

Technology advancement has brought it its wake radical changes to our daily lives. Among all those changes, one of the most noticeable change is the way in which we shop. However, the assumption that technology would transform consumers’ shopping seems to be over-simplistic.

Shopping habits, certainly, has shifted with the advent of Internet. Online shopping becomes a fever among all social strata. It not only saves the time for those white collars, but also provide convenience for those who live far from the mall. In addition, the miscellaneous items online provide consumer with more choices. Therefore, there is an increasing number to consumer turn to Internet for shopping.

However, despite the merits of shopping on line, traditional shopping style will still persist in the foreseeable future. This is particularly true when it comes to the fruit and vegetables, which could easily decay during the transportation if bought online. Therefore, the traditional food market would not be replaced by Internet easily.

Moreover, the shortcomings of online shopping is undeniable and inescapable. The consumer does not have chance to try out when buying clothes, thus leading to the result that the clothes they bought online are often unfit. Another oblivious drawback of online shopping is that the photos and descriptions online are more often than not deceiving. That is to say the goods shown on the computer screen are often prove to be quite different from the goods received. Therefore, consumers might choose to go to the more reliable retail store.

Therefore, in the light of foregoing reasons, it is unreadable to expect the technology would change consumer’s behavior thoroughly. Though our shopping habit can be influences to some degree, the traditional way of shopping would not disappear in the short term.