In oder to learn a language well, we should also learn about the country as well as the cultures and lifestyles of the people who speak this language. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Several people argue that languages and society are linked inextricably. Language is the verbal expression of culture. To learn a language well, it is necessary to know about the culture and the lifestyle of the people speaking this language. However, others believe that language can be learnt without understanding the culture of the native speakers. I totally agree with the former statement for the following reasons.

First and foremost, it is true that several successful learners have never learnt about the country of the native speakers. Such learners possibly have a gift for learning languages and would get success under any circumstances with regular attempt. However, for most people, learning a language well means to understand clearly the its social context.

Language is much more than just a mean of communication. It is the carrier o one nation's culture and tradition. To some extent, it represents a country. Through learning a country's long history and traditional culture, one can have a broader and clearer view of the essence involved in a language and therefore improve the whole understand of it. There are dialects, nuances, idioms as well as slangs which can only be learnt if people understand its context. Furthermore, a word may consist various meanings. For instance, the word "doctor" in English is not only a noun but also a verb. By understanding culture and lifestyle of the native speakers, people may use these words in suitable context.

Finally, when it comes to interest, people likely to enjoy a language with the understanding of culture and the way native speakers living. For example, by watching shows that are about American culture and lifestyle, one can get knowledge and study vocabulary. As a result, he is motivated to learn it hard no matter what difficulties he is confronted with.

In conclusion, it is definitely needed to know about the culture of a country if learners want to know it well.