One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The medical sciences are progressing with leaps and bounds in this jet age of the 21st century. As a result of this people are enjoying good health and live longer. As the case with many issues this happening has cons and pros. However, I believe the merits of increased life span is exceeding their demerits.

Multifarious points shore up the advantages of this phenomenon. First and foremost, when people live longer, they will enjoy their life more. In other words, people will have more time to spend with their families and friends. In addition they probably have extra time to travel and see places they could not have time to see it before. Moreover, some people with certain jobs could benefit their society even when they are older. For example, Doctors, Politicians and Teachers. A newly graduated Doctor definitely will gain knowledge and experience from an old professional one. Therefore, increased life expectancy is beneficial for both the individuals and the whole society.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks for prolonging people’s life. Firstly, increasing life span of the people will requires astronomical budget that will ultimately put extra burden on the economy of the country. As this budget will spend on medical equipment, hospitals and care for elderly people. Furthermore, some people could argue that, by increasing the life of an old, diseased person, we will prolonging his/her suffer and pain. As the case with patient suffer from terminal illness, we just increase his/her suffer and misery.

In conclusion, it is clear from aforementioned points that, increased life span has positive and negative aspects. However, I still believe that, advantages of this trend far outweigh the disadvantages.