A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In our world today, a significant change in life and people's values has been seen. This, in fact, is producing a profound modification in how human beings interact with each other.

Nowadays someone's worth is measured by social status and whealthness rather than old-fashioned values. It seems that in the past qualities such as honour, kindness and trust were more important. At the present moment of our history, life itself is going faster than before along with an increase in the competition for better salaries, better jobs and power. Therefore, as an expected effect our society transformed from one with more human values to one foccused in material possessions.

Not everyone agrees with the idea that all human beings want more high valuable possessions, for instance. There are numerous successfull professionals that despite their social status they contribute constantly for the development of our society with humanitarian acts and donations. The most prominent example of this is Mr. Bill Gates who is the owner of one of the largest software companies in the world. Mr. Gates is the perfect example of someone who is more concern with non material values.

In conclusion, it is evident that a person's worth seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Nevertheless it is important no to forget the old-fashioned values because they are the ones that matter the most.