Prison has long been the traditional punishment for people who commit crimes. Some people believe, however, that community service orders are more appropriate in some cases. When do you think that it is right to order people to work in the community to pay for their crimes?

Imprisonment, after the traditional executions in the early century, has been the method deployed by law in order to reform criminals. Yet, questions have been raised as to what extend this is equitable and applicablee to any offence. As a consequence, it has been suggested that social service for community could pay further dividens in society. In this essay I will set forth the two main factos in which custodial setences could be amended for community work.

Firstly, a clear case in which draconian laws could be amended is for petty crimes, since not all offences are of the same ilk. This is due to the fact that misdemeanors incurs an inequal impact that a felony would cause in society. Take for instance a graffiti and a bank robbery. While the former action is meaningless comprateed to the later, both are sentenced with the same sanction when vandalism could be graeter diminished with community service. Therefore, as this shows, distinct actions should be assessed accordingly to their seriousness.

Secondly, another case in which social work would be more beneficial is in mitigating cases such as manslaughters. Several misdemeanors are conducted for self-deffence motives. For instance, a study by the UN Against Women Abuse has revealed that 5% of homocides committed are for self-protection in which the victim murders the attacant for their own survival instinct. In such cases, it would be more moral to implement a social work punishment than a prison sentence. Thus, it is clear that sending offenders to prison could be in many cases a inequitable action to take.

To conclude from the reasons provided above, I believe that criminal laws ought to be reconsidered in order to apply more community service for petty offences and leave imprisonment for felonies. Were this policy to be implemented, human rights would be significantly bettered.