Several languages are dying out every year. Some people do not think it is important and say that our life will be simpler with fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

A language is the bridge of some nations. For this reason, some people argue that the more the languages disappear, the more the life will be easier, the more the people can communicate with people around the world. While using any specific languages provides a simple life, I personally argue that a language is a country’s heritage which is the original culture that has to be protected.

On the one hand, it is important to keep some languages as the original identity of countries as languages are a culture that has to be protected. For example, Javanese people, original ethnic group from Indonesia, are still using Java language to communicate with their families or nomadic people in their areas. Traditional languages can evoke a sense of community among Javanese people and appreciate their descendants.

In addition, the world is more colorful with the varieties of languages that people use in daily life. As many different languages arouse people’s interest to visit and learn the vernacular language of other countries or cities, people can understand about the diversity and open minded that they live in the complex societies. As a result, if there are only a few languages, it will be boring for some people to speak in the same language every day.

On the other hand, fewer languages that are used in the world bring a simple life and flexibility. In globalization era, the most important textbooks and journals are published in English language so that people only need English to understand the content and it will be easy for some researchers to study about a scientific case. In addition, the majority of people in this world master an international language. Consequently, the communication with people from different countries is easier than they have to communicate with other people who cannot speak English. Lastly, there is no language barrier that leads to miss-communication and understanding between people in the international meeting.

All in all, the presence of fewer languages in the world makes a convenient life as they can avoid miss-understanding, but the drawbacks of dying out some languages would be more dangerous to the traditional values that should be kept alive. Where possible, indigenous people should prevent the negative influences from modern era that will damage their native languages.