In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university.

discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, there are certain countries which motivate young people to be engaged in job or have a trip for a year before beginning of the university after finishing high school. In this essay will be examined both sides of this approach: pros and cons.

On the one hand, the break between finishing high school and starting university reflect on the students positively in two ways: psychologically and physically. What this means is students can relax their mind with no thinking about university problems. Also, going to the university and seeing the same things daily make students tired physically, however, if students have an opportunity to travel, they will relax mentally, broaden their mind with familiarizing foreign culture, new places and can improve language skills. If students in this break time prefer to work, they will have a chance to acknowledge a mature life, the hardship of earning money, moreover, they will understand how comfortable student’s life was. Furthermore, while having a job, they can gain basic skills of working and experience, learn about the rules of business life and feel free. Consequently, it can be noticed that a break-year give students many advantages.

On the other hand, while a break-year has certain advantages, however, there are some disadvantages too. Sometimes it can be waste of time. In other words, students lengthen their education time. Not using this year, they can graduate university much earlier and then to travel with any limitations. Additionally, students who prefer to work, they do not have a chance to work in high posts or cannot find a serious job. That is to say their experience is not considered as real. Then, a break-year can alienate students from education and to kill the desire of continuing education. As a result, a break-year can make students lazier.

To sum up, there are both advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to take a vacant year. In my opinion, advantages outweigh disadvantages, taking a break-year is useful.