In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Taking a year off before starting university studies is one of the issues widely discussed in society. Some feel that it is an invaluable opportunity to learn about the world and get the necessary experience, while others disagree. In my opinion, spending a year abroad has more benefits than drawbacks.

It is true that living abroad, even for a year, can have some disadvantages. The main of them is that young people become out of the habit to study, and on coming back to usual routine it takes them much time to adjust. Another reason is staying away from their familiar environment, which can be rather painful for those who have never left home for so long. A further reason is that at the Age of 18 people are too young and inexperienced to travel on their own to such distant places.

However, living abroad gives the youth an invaluable experience, which can be implemented in future. As a result, they become more mature, tolerant and understanding. In addition, financial management cannot be underestimated either. If young people make their own living, their attitude towards money is changing, because taking money from parents and earning it is not the same. One more reason of a‘gap year” for offspring is making up their mind, as not all of them are able to decide what career to choose after finishing school. It might be better to think about it thoroughly than waste time and money doing something they have no inclination to. Moreover, a “gap year” can make young people reevaluate numerous things that they took for granted. Family’s support, mother’s home made meals and modern conveniences are among them.

In conclusion, although there are some advantages to proceed directly into university studies after school, there are numerous benefits of a ”gap year”, which outweigh them.