Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a common viewpoint of which period is the optimal choice for child to learn a foreign language? Primary school or secondary school?

Once the children begin to learn a new language at primary school, they will be confused by two different language systems, especially for the different origin of two languages. It is easy to manipulate native language because kids can more practice and communicate with their friends or relatives. The more practice is critical in determining the effect of studying. For secondary language, the kids must pay more attention and study hard to familiar with the pronunciation and writing. The huge spelling structure and lots of meanings are big challenge for primary student.

But from the opposite opinion, when students intend to learn a foreign language at their secondary school, they have strong study ability to acquire new knowledge of language, which benefits the language studying. However, the disadvantages are also referred, such as the memory ability, the ability to accept novel knowledge and Curious. The growth age after entering secondary school will alleviate the keen interest of language learning. Simultaneously, the interest of students will transfer to other fields including football, basketball, dancing or singing. The passion of studying may be reduced and the depth and extension of learning a foreign language will be decreased or destroyed.

Overall, the choice to let student learn a foreign language both at primary school and secondary school are not important. The optimized way to learn a secondary language depends on the personality and ability for each different student. Meantime, the teacher should treat different student different attitude for learning language.