Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the role of university. While there are some good arguments in favour of benefiting both students and communities, I believe that the purpose of higher education is to prepare them to land well-paid jobs.

On the one hand, some people believe that university study offers a variety of positive experiences for both individuals and societies. Firstly, by studying at university, students would have chances to make friends, provided that many universities not only accept local students, but also overseas students. Therefore, through interaction with international students, local students would be able to expand their networks and horizons along with learning foreign languages and different cultures. Secondly, university life can also bring benefits to societies. Societies will gain the contribution that graduates can make to the economy. We are living a very competitive world, so countries need educated people in order to compete and prosper.

On the other hand, I believe that the main aim of university is to assist graduates in obtaining better jobs. Nowadays, academic qualifications are required in many professions. For example, it is impossible to become teachers, lawyers or doctors without having the relevant degree. As a result, university graduates have access to more and better jobs, and they tend to earn higher salaries than those with fewer qualifications. In addition, the job market is increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young people who do not have qualifications from university will not be able to compete.

In conclusion, university education certainly plays its role in positively affecting individual student and society, but I tend to believe that its aim is more focused on dedicating students to a prestigious job.