Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of highly controversial debates today relates to whether it is beneficial for young people to continue their studies at university or get a job straight after high school. In this essay, I am going to delve into the question from both points of views and then give my own perspective on the matter.

The option to start earning money right after graduating from high school is attractive for several reasons. Many young people would like to make money as soon as possible these days. In this way, they can become economically independent, and they will be able to afford to purchase expensive things that ordinary university students cannot buy. Also, they will be able to start a family with adequate savings. In terms of their career, they can progress more quickly. They will have the chance to gain real experience and learn practical skills in their profession. This may result in quicker promotions and a successful career.

On the other hand, there are several benefits of studying at university. Firstly, academic qualifications are required in many professions nowadays. For example, if you want to become a doctor or lawyer, you must have the relevant degrees. Consequently, young people, who have obtained relevant qualifications from university or any other education institution, have better chance to get access to more and better job opportunities than those with relatively few qualifications. Moreover, people who have more qualifications tend to earn higher amount of money. Secondly, the job market is increasing becoming competitive these days. Hence, those with fewer qualifications will not be able to compete.

In conclusion, university provides such qualifications which lead to better employment, while working straight after high school enables us to earn money and gain such experience quicker. However, I tend to believe that taking further studies is beneficial for students for a successful career in later life.