Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career , while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a heated debate over whether getting a university degree or joining the work place immediately after school will be more beneficial to students’ career. I personally think studying at university give more benefits to students.

Admittedly, getting a job right after school does give certain benefits to students. Firstly, working experiences give students more practical knowledges than (formal education) lectures do. It is obvious that even one learns very well in the class it does not mean he can apply this knowledge into practice. Second, instead of paying tuition, students start to earn money if they get a job. This give student confident as financial independence is generally considered a sign of maturity.

However, the benefits of studying at university outweigh that of getting a job after school. To begin with, university degree give a student more options when he chooses a job. This is because nowadays many jobs require candidates to have a bachelor degree. If students only have a high school certificate, the range of jobs they can choose from is quite limited. Therefore, even though students will have working experiences if they work after high school, the experiences they acquire may not be useful when they want to move up to a high-end job. On top of that, university experience also offer a valuable social network for students which they are hard to get outside of university. This networks will be very helpful for their career path.

Therefore, although both choices will benefits a student, studying at university is more beneficial as compared with working right after school as it gives more job opportunities and a valuable social networks to him.