Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Throughout its history, people have learned foreign languages for different reasons; however, these days, it is believed that individuals learn one or several languages in addition to a native one in order to only travel abroad or work for a multinational company. In my opinion, it is a misconception to indicate only the two reasons since there are many purposes in learning foreign languages.

Nowadays, the number of students who either intended to or already study in overseas increases significantly every year. Thus, students many of whom are international ones have to be able to speak a language of a host country, in general English, in order to study at an university. Moreover, many researchers most of whose first language is not English or German must learn English to do research or participate in a scientific conference.

On the other hand, it is true that a substantial number of people learn foreign languages to travel abroad or to work for a foreign organisation since the world became more globalised than few years ago. Individuals take a foreign language course in order to be employed in a multinational organisation for better job opportunities. While people who want to visit overseas countries have to learn a local language of an intended country in order to reduce the burden of language obstacles. My brother, for instance, enjoyed his visit to Turkey in 2010 as he had learnt Turkish beforehand, while my friend also could have had an enjoyable trip to Germany; however, he had some problems with understanding German, thus he decided to learn foreign languages before visiting certain countries.

In conclusion, it is true that most people learn foreign languages in order to travel or to work; nonetheless, those are not only reasons for learning a foreign language since individuals have other reasons such as studying and doing research.